All You Care About

Free verse

Marta Mozolewska
1 min readOct 16, 2022
Photo by JillWellington (via pixabay)

Don’t show me the direction,
calling it the right one.
Right for you? Me? Everybody?
How dare you claim you know
what’s right or wrong for anyone?

Who do you think you are?
You’re not wiser or better
than everybody else.
We all differ in so many
wonderful ways.

I have my own eyes,
so will you please let me
find the path I want to follow.
You see mountains there?
What you see, think or feel
I might not.

A mountain for you might be
a mere bump for me, a storm
a discoteque, rain the water
I’ve been longing for
all my life.

I don’t need your shackles,
reins or a lasso to handle
doors or windows.
I myself know which doors
should always remain closed.
As regards windows,
all of them are openable.
But I decide which to open,
when and for how long.

--

--